Category: Non-Fiction
Dangerous Days in the Roman Empire: Terrors and Torments, Diseases and Deaths – £1.99 0 comments

The Romans have long been held up as one of the first ‘civilised’ societies, and yet in fact they were capable of immense cruelty. Not only that, but they made the killing of humans into a sport. The spoiled emperors were the perpetrators (and sometimes the victims) of some imaginative murders. Dangerous Days in the Roman Empire will include some of the violent ways to visit the Elysian Fields (i.e. death) including: animal attack in the Coliseum; being thrown from the Tarpeian Rock – 370 deserters in 214 AD alone (or if the emperor didn’t like your poetry); by volcanic eruption from Vesuvius; by kicking (Nero’s fatal quarrel with the Empress Poppea); from poison mushrooms (Claudius); by great fires; torturous tarring; flogging to death; boiling lead (the invention of ‘kind’ Emperor Constantine); or being skinned alive by invading barbarians.
Dangerous Days in the Roman Empire looks at the back-story leading up to the victims’ deaths, and in doing so gives the general reader a concise history of a frequently misunderstood era. Buy this book today for £1.99
Click here to purchase Dangerous Days in the Roman Empire

Read More..
Twelve Days: Revolution 1956. How the Hungarians tried to topple their Soviet masters 0 comments

The Hungarian Revolution in 1956 is a story of extraordinary bravery in a fight for freedom, and of ruthless cruelty in suppressing a popular dream. A small nation, its people armed with a few rifles and petrol bombs, had the will and courage to rise up against one of the world’s superpowers.
The determination of the Hungarians to resist the Russians astonished the West. People of all kinds, throughout the free world, became involved in the cause. For 12 days it looked, miraculously, as though the Soviets might be humbled. Then reality hit back. The Hungarians were brutally crushed.
The uprising was the defining moment of the Cold War: the USSR showed that it was determined to hold on to its European empire, but it would never do so without resistance. From the Prague Spring to Lech Walesa’s Solidarity and the fall of the Berlin Wall, the tighter the grip of the communist bloc, the more irresistible the popular demand for freedom.
Buy this book today for £1.99.
Click here to purchase Twelve Days: Revolution 1956

Read More..
Unlocking the Scriptures – What the Bible Is, How We Got It, and Why We Can Trust It – Just 49p 0 comments

The Bible is the bestselling, most read, most beloved, most criticized, most neglected, and most antagonizing book in history. It’s also the most misunderstood–sometimes even by those who claim to follow its teachings. So what exactly is it? Who wrote it and how did those writings come together into what we now know as the Bible? And how do we know we can trust what it says?
For the curious reader, whether a lifelong Christian, a new believer, or an unconvinced skeptic, Unlocking the Bible provides the answers to these questions and more. In easy-to-understand language, it covers the Bible’s origin, its transmission throughout history, its trustworthiness, and its significance. It also explains how to read this unique collection of religious texts and outlines how to study and teach it to others.
Buy this book today for only 49p.
Click here to purchase Unlocking the Scriptures

Read More..
The Negotiator: My life at the heart of the hostage trade – True crime account – £1.99 0 comments

Ben Lopez is a Kidnap-for-Ransom consultant. He spends his days travelling from one crisis zone to the next, negotiating with people who value money over life.
On behalf of government agencies, law enforcement teams, multinational corporations and private clients, Ben sets up and commands the negotiator’s cell, bartering with some of the world’s most desperate people for the safe return of their captives. Working alongside a shadowy team of former spies and special operatives, his arsenal of psychological techniques is just as powerful as brute force. He remains on location for as long as it takes to get the job done. Then he disappears.
Buy this true crime account today for £1.99.
Click here to purchase The Negotiator

Read More..
Tabloid Girl – The ‘Dark’ Carpathian #12 – A smart, funny, revealing look – £1.99 0 comments

Sharon Marshall worked on four tabloid newspapers over the course of ten years. Along the way she did and saw some Very Bad Things, and failed – spectacularly – to find love. It was only when she realised that these two things were connected that she finally realised it was time to quit.
In her hilarious and eye-opening memoir she reveals what really goes on behind the scenes at a major tabloid newspaper – just how far journalists will go to get a story, and just how far celebrities will go (secretly) to get their name in the headlines. In the tradition of Hotel Babylon and City Boy, TABLOID GIRL is a smart, funny, revealing look into a fascinating world.
Buy this book today for only £1.99.
Click here to purchase Tabloid Girl

Read More..
Merchant Adventurers: The Voyage of Discovery that Transformed Tudor England – £1.99 0 comments

In the spring of 1553 three ships sailed north-east from London into uncharted waters. The scale of their ambition was breathtaking. Drawing on the latest navigational science and the new spirit of enterprise and discovery sweeping the Tudor capital, they sought a northern passage to Asia and its riches.
This long-neglected endeavour was one of the boldest in British history, and its impact was profound. Although the ‘merchant adventurers’ failed to reach China as they had hoped, their achievements would lay the foundations for England’s expansion on a global stage. As James Evans’ vivid account shows, their voyage also makes for a gripping story of daring, discovery, tragedy and adventure.
Buy this book today for only £1.99.
Click here to purchase Merchant Adventurers

Read More..
Spies In The Sky: The Secret Battle for Aerial Intelligence during World War II – £1.99 0 comments

SPIES IN THE SKY is the thrilling, little-known story of the partner organisation to the famous code-breaking centre at Bletchley Park. It is the story of the daring reconnaissance pilots who took aerial photographs over Occupied Europe during the most dangerous days of the Second World War, and of the photo interpreters who invented a completely new science to analyse those pictures. They were inventive and ingenious; they pioneered the development of 3D photography and their work provided vital intelligence throughout the war.
With a whole host of colourful characters at its heart, from the legendary pilot Adrian ‘Warby’ Warburton, who went missing while on a mission, to photo interpreters Glyn Daniel, later a famous television personality, and Winston Churchill’s daughter, Sarah, SPIES IN THE SKY is compelling reading and the first full account of the story of aerial photography and the intelligence gleaned from it in nearly fifty years.
Buy this history today for only £1.99
Click here to purchase Spies In The Sky

Read More..
Next Door Savior – Near Enough to Touch, Strong Enough to Trust – £1.99 0 comments

We applaud men for doing good things. We enshrine God for doing great things. But what about a man who does God things?
One thing is certain. We can’t ignore him. If these moments are factual, if the claim of Christ is actual, then he was, at once, man and God.
The single most significant person who ever lived. Forget MVP. He is the entire league. The head of the parade? Hardly. No one else shares the street. Who comes close? Humanity’s best and brightest fade like dime-store rubies next to him.
Dismiss him? We can’t. Resist him? Equally difficult. Why would we want to? Don’t we need a God-man Savior? A just-God Jesus could make us, but not understand us. A just-man Jesus could love us, but never save us. But a God-man Jesus?
Near enough to touch. Strong enough to trust. A next door Savior.
Buy this book by beloved author Max Lucado for £1.99 today.
Click here to purchase Next Door Savior

Read More..
An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth – Life lessons from space – £1.29 0 comments

Colonel Chris Hadfield has spent decades training as an astronaut and has logged nearly 4,000 hours in space. During this time he has broken into a Space Station with a Swiss army knife, disposed of a live snake while piloting a plane, been temporarily blinded while clinging to the exterior of an orbiting spacecraft, and become a YouTube sensation with his performance of David Bowie’s ‘Space Oddity’ in space. The secret to Chris Hadfield’s success – and survival – is an unconventional philosophy he learned at NASA: prepare for the worst – and enjoy every moment of it.
You might never be able to build a robot, pilot a spacecraft, make a music video or perform basic surgery in zero gravity like Colonel Hadfield. But his vivid and refreshing insights in this book will teach you how to think like an astronaut, and will change, completely, the way you view life on Earth – especially your own.
Buy this book today for only £1.29.
Click here to purchase An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth

Read More..
Bob: No Ordinary Cat – A special edition for children aged 11 and above – Just 99p 0 comments

James Bowen was a homeless musician, busking on the streets of London to survive. But the moment he met an injured stray cat with ginger fur and big green eyes, his life began to change. Together James and Bob the cat faced the world – and won.
A purrfectly true ‘tail’ of love and friendship to make you smile! A special edition for children aged 11 and above, this book is selling for only 99p today.
Click here to purchase Bob: No Ordinary Cat

Read More..
Next Page »