Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?
A. It’s all the Romans’ fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.
For readers of Paxman’s The English, Bryson’s Notes on a Small Island and Fox’s Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics – our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex – are all defined by our nation’s extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.
You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Buy this book for only 99p today.
Click here to purchase How England Made the English